openHUB Europe

OSTRALE Foundation Cultural Identity with European Partners

openHUB Europe offers a platform for sustainable collaborations on a European level in the realm of interdisciplinary contemporary arts. The development of a common European cultural identity and sense of community is at the same time an exciting and a drawn-out process. The complex activities of the two-year project which started in May 2015 consist of exhibitions, artist in residencies, workshops for audience, professional trainings for the partner organizations, panels discussions and events. openHUB Europe offers space to reflect on geographical, intellectual, social and economic contexts in order to better understand and practice collaborative processes within the European cultural field. At the OSTRALE´O16, artists from the italien and polish partner organizations also participate in the artist residencies program of openHUB Europe.

openHUB Europe aims to support artists with and without disabilities and cultural managers in their individual capacity building in the realm of inter- and transnational collaboration by involving experts from various domains and by a constant transfer of knowledge and experiences. In the context of openHUB Europe these artists will participate in Artist-in-Residencies in Dresden and Milano and exhibit their works.

Partners organizations

The OSTRALE – Festival for Contemporary Arts as main partner of openHUB Europe cooperates with these European partner organizations:

The ArtBrut Gallery and Studio for Encouraging Social Participation in Wrocław, Poland had been the key projects of “The World of Hope Association” since early 2009. Its mission is the presentation and active promotion of art and other creative efforts by people with intellectual disabilities and mental disorders, social integration and search for new ways to support disabled artists. The Gallery and Studio hold exhibitions, workshops, meet-the-artist events and sessions to encourage social inclusion.

Associazione Equinozio in Milano, Italy produces and promotes art events in collaboration with associations, institutions, libraries and theaters, creating “cultural circuits”. Next to video concerts and theatre shows with music, poetry and images dedicated to Italian culture, Literary Appetizers and film clubs, Equinozio also has created trainings and development projects of social cohesion in recent years, working with major institutional partners financed by Cariplo Foundation and the City of Milan, e.g. draft art therapy which are held in the prison of Saint Victor. The project was designed and implemented by association Equinozio, in collaboration with cooperative A & I, Arci Milan, Lombardy Region, the Municipality of Milan, Bicocca University.

Netwerk / centre for contemporary art in Aalst, Belgium develops an operation focusing on the creation of visual arts, where their conception, production, presentation and public relations are central, and through which both international exchanges as well as local cooperation’s are supported. The exhibition program, enriched by residence projects, situates contemporary developments in the visual arts in a broader social context. All disciplines in the visual arts are hereby placed in synergy with other artistic expressions such as performances and concerts, theatre, dance and literature. Since 2006 Netwerk operates as Netwerk / centre for contemporary art, recognized by the Flemish Government.

Heinz Bert Dreckmann »Geschlossene Gesellschaft« (2011), photo: Hebran

Heinz Bert Dreckmann »Geschlossene Gesellschaft« (2011), photo: Hebran

Five European Art Events

openHUB Europe is composed of Five Art Events. Every partner organization in Poland, Belgium, Italy and Germany organizes one Art Event during the two-years project including various perspectives and approaches from all partners.

  • First Art Event: “Food/Eat Art” in Dresden, Germany at OSTRALE´O15, 10.7.-29.9.2015
  • Second Art Event: “Food/Eat Art” in Milano, Italy at an old Villa and the public Library, 13.-29.10.2015
  • Third Art Event: “Rural vs. Urban” in Aalst, Belgium at the Gallery space of “Netwerk / centre for contemporary arts”, 21.5.-8.6.2016
  • Fourth Art Event: “Po.rozumienie, Über.einkommen, Under.standing” inWrocław, Poland at the Gallery space of “The ArtBrut Gallery and Studio for Encouraging Social Participation” June/July 2016
  • Fifth Art Event: “Po.rozumienie, Über.einkommen, Under.standing” at OSTRALE´O161.7.-25.9. 2016

Further informations: www.openhub-europe.eu

openHUB Europe project is co-funded by CREATIVE EUROPE Programme of the European Union, and organized by OSTRALE – Centre for Contemporary Arts, Associazione Culturale Equinozio, NETWERK, centrum voor hedendaagse kunst, and ArtBrut Gallery and Studio for Encouraging Social Participation.

openHUB Europe

Mit europäischen Partnern zu kultureller Gemeinschaft

Das Projekt openHUBEurope bietet zur OSTRALE´O16 im Bereich der interdisziplinären, zeitgenössischen Kunst eine Plattform für die nachhaltige Zusammenarbeit auf europäischer Ebene. Die komplexen Aktivitäten des Zwei-Jahres-Projekts, das im Mai 2015 startete, bestehen vor allem aus Ausstellungen, Artist-in-Residencies, Workshops, professionellen Schulungen für die Partnerorganisationen, Expertenpannels und Diskussionsforen. Ziel von openHUB Europe ist es, geografische, intellektuelle, soziale und wirtschaftliche Zusammenhänge zu reflektieren, um kollaborative Prozesse innerhalb des Europäischen Kulturbereichs besser zu verstehen und zu praktizieren. An oberster Stelle stehen dabei die Entwicklung einer gemeinsamen, europäischen, kulturellen Identität und des Sinns für Gemeinschaft.

Inklusiv denken, gemeinsam handeln
openHUB Europe zielt darauf ab, Künstler und Kulturmanager mit und ohne Behinderung gemäß ihrer individuellen Fähigkeiten im Bereich der inter- und transnationalen Zusammenarbeit mit Experten durch den Austausch von Wissen und Erfahrungen zu unterstützen. Im Rahmen von openHUB Europe nehmen die beteiligten Künstler an Artist-in-Residencies in Dresden und in Mailand teil und präsentieren ihre Werke und Performances dem Publikum.

Partnerorganisationen

Die OSTRALE – Festival für zeitgenössische Kunst als Hauptpartner der openHUB Europe kooperiert mit drei europäischen Partnerorganisationen: Die ArtBrut Gallery and Studio for Encouraging Social Participation in Breslau, Polen, spielen seit Anfang 2009 eine Schlüsselrolle im Projekt “The World of Hope”. Ihre Mission ist die Präsentation und die aktive Förderung von Kunst und anderen kreativen Leistungen von Menschen mit geistiger Behinderung und psychischen Störungen, um die soziale Integration von behinderten Künstlern zu unterstützen. Die Galerie und das Studio veranstalten Ausstellungen, Workshops, Meet-the-artist-Veranstaltungen und Plattformen, um die soziale Eingliederung zu fördern.

Die Associazione Equinozio in Mailand, Italien organisiert und fördert Kunst-Events in Zusammenarbeit mit Verbänden, Institutionen, Bibliotheken und Theatern, sowie die Schaffung von “Kulturkreisen”. Neben Video-Konzerten und Theatershows mit Musik, Poesie und Bildern, die der italienischen Kultur gewidmet sind, veranstaltet Equinozio auch Schulungen und Entwicklungsprojekte des sozialen Zusammenhalts. Durch Förderungen der Cariplo Foundation und der Stadt Mailand, konnte beispielsweise ein Kunsttherapieprogramm im Gefängnis von Saint Victor etabliert werden. Das Projekt wurde durch Assoziatione Equinozio in Zusammenarbeit mit A & I, Arci Mailand, Lombardy Region, der Stadt Mailand und der Bicocca Universität konzipiert und realisiert.

Netwerk / Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst in Aalst, Belgien, setzt seinen Schwerpunkt auf die Schaffung von visuellen Künsten, bei denen die Konzeption, Produktion, Präsentation und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit im Mittelpunkt stehen, und durch internationalen Austausch sowie lokale Zusammenarbeit gestützt werden. Das Ausstellungsprogramm wird durch Artist in Residencies bereichert und verortet zeitgenössische Entwicklungen in der bildenden Kunst in einem breiteren gesellschaftlichen Kontext. Alle Disziplinen der bildenden Kunst werden mit anderen künstlerischen Ausdrucksformen wie Performances und Konzerten, Theater, Tanz und Literatur in Zusammenhang gebracht. Seit 2006 ist das Netwerk / Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst in öffentlicher Trägerschaft.

Heinz Bert Dreckmann »Geschlossene Gesellschaft« (2011), Foto: Hebran

Heinz Bert Dreckmann »Geschlossene Gesellschaft« (2011), Foto: Hebran

Fünf europäische Art Events

Das Projekt openHUB Europe setzt sich aus fünf Kunst-Events zusammen. Jede der Partnerorganisationen organisiert dabei während des zweijährigen Projekts in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Partnern einen Art Event.

Erstes Art Event: “Food/Eat Art” in Dresden, Deutschland
Im Rahmen der OSTRALE´O15, 10.7.-29.9.2015
openHUB Europe-Kunstwerke sind entsprechend gekennzeichnet.

Zweites Art Event: “Food/Eat Art” in Mailand, Italien
Palazzina Sicentro und Biblioteca Valvassori Peroni, 13.-29.10.2015

Drittes Art Event: “Rural vs. Urban” in Aalst, Belgien
In der Galerie “Netwerk / Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst”, 21.5.-8.6. 2016

Viertes Art Event: “Po.rozumienie, Über.einkommen, Under.standing” in Breslau, Polen
In der Galerie “The ArtBrut Gallery and Studio for Encouraging Social Participation” Juni/Juli 2016

Fünftes Art Event: “Po.rozumienie, Über.einkommen, Under.standing”
Im Rahmen der OSTRALE´O16, 1.7.-25.9. 2016

Weitere Informationen: www.openhub-europe.eu

openHUB Europe wird ko-finanziert durch das Programm KREATIVES EUROPA der Europäischen Union und gemeinschaftlich umgesetzt von OSTRALE – Zentrum für Zeitgenössische Kunst, Associazione Culturale Equinozio, NETWERK, centrum voor hedendaagse kunst, sowie ArtBrut Gallery und Studio for Encouraging Social Participation.