European Capital of Culture Valletta 2018

In the context of the new Biennale Concept of the OSTRALE we will be involved in the "European Capital of Culture Valletta 2018" at the Museum "St. James Cavalier", at the "German Maltese Circle" and at "Valletta Contamporary" in Malta from May to July 2018

"found a mentalism I & II" under the curation of Antka Hofmann and Andrea Hilger for German-Maltese Circle April 14th to May 27th 2018 and Fondazzjoni Kreattività of St. James Cavalier June 1st to July 29th

One could see, the confrontation of these two exhibitions and artists from around the globe that were selected by the OSTRALE curators, in the light of the words of the artist Pablo Picasso about "Guernica" (1937): "It is my wish to remind you that I was always convinced and am still convinced, that an artist who lives and works with spiritual values cannot behave indifferently when faced with a conflict in which the highest values of humanity and civilization are at risk." Because what we want to achieve are art rooms, created through and with the artists' works, inviting to think and create change in the sense of Picassos' words anything but indifferent to the current state of society. Which perspectives for the future are provided through the examination of the past?

Our present age is a time of turmoil, marked by the increasing presence of terrifying "isms", it confronts us with open questions and missing answers. Is art the mediator we need in our societies, acting as the conscious confrontation and collaboration of tradition and modernity and providing support in the search of peaceful resolutions? Can it be a supporting power for the development of the European cultural space?

In our art project "found ǎ mentalism" we propose a journey through the growth of a young political and economic society to tackle the question how our shared heritage is assembled. We focus on the topics Mediterranean Sea - "Conflict and Exile", standing for the global situation of war and displacement. Beyond this and through the confrontation of art works and artists we present a myriad of opportunities provided through cultural diversity, mutual understanding and by finding togetherness.

German Maltese Circle – opening on April 14th 2018

Artists:

(room 1) Antka Hofmann, Katrin Süss / Nina Holzweg

(room 2) Jonas Lewek, Detlef Schweiger / Michael Goller

(room 3) Ekkehardt Tischendorf, Katerina Belkina, Karen Gäbler, Henri Deparade, Marcin Owczarek

(hallway) Gaspar Risko, Luc Saalfeld

(gallery) Sabine Ostermann, Philipp Gloger


Saint James Cavalier - Eröffnung am 1. Juni 2018

Artists:

(Main Hall / hallway) Martin Müller, Stephanie Marx, Mavi Garcia, Urban Grünfelder, Ekkehardt Tischendorf, Paolo Assenza, Nathalie Bertrams, Daniel Kiczales

(Space A) Anka Lesniak, Feng Lu, Malgorzata Myslinska, Ulrike Mundt, Antka Hofmann, Karen Gäbler, Else Gold, Katrin König, Ran Slavin, Philipp Gloger, Gery de Smet

(Space B) Stefan Plenkers, Arne Kalkbrenner, Annelise Bully, Dmytro Pertyna, Steffen Otto, Frenzy Höhne, Tobias Köbsch

(Space C1) Till Ansgar Baumhauer, Rose Stach, Faig Ahmed, Martyna Jastrzebska, Peter Makolies

(Space C2) Nevet Yitzhak

(Space C3) Karolin Koss, Melanie Kramer, Dani Nordt

Space C4) Marcin Owczarek, Henri Deparade, Otto Berndt Steffen

(Entrance Space C) Shahar Marcus

Supported by:
Landeshaupstadt Dresden
Schneider + Partner (Hauptsponsor)
Heinrichsthaler

Europäische Kulturhauptstadt Valletta 2018

Im Rahmen des neuen Biennale-Konzeptes der OSTRALE gastieren wir von Mai bis Juli 2018 im Rahmen der "Europäischen Kulturhauptstadt Valletta 2018" im Museum "St. James Cavalier", im "German Maltese Circle" und im "Valletta Contemporary" in Malta.

„found a mentalism I&II" unter der Kuration von Antka Hofmann und Andrea Hilger für Fondazzjoni Kreattività in German-Maltese Circle vom 14. April bis 27.May 2018 und in St. James Cavalier vom 1. Juni bis 29. Juli 2018

Kuratoren Statement:

So wie der Künstler Pablo Picasso über „Guernica" (1937) schrieb „Es ist mein Wunsch, Sie daran zu erinnern, dass ich stets davon überzeugt war und noch immer davon überzeugt bin, dass ein Künstler, der mit geistigen Werten lebt und umgeht, angesichts eines Konflikts, in dem die höchsten Werte der Humanität und Zivilisation auf dem Spiel stehen, sich nicht gleichgültig verhalten kann" , könnte man die Gegenüberstellungen beider Ausstellungen und der Künstler aus aller Welt, die durch die OSTRALE-Kuratoren ausgewählt wurden, sehen. Denn die Kunsträume, die wir durch und mit den Werken der Künstler schaffen, sollen zum Nachdenken und zur Veränderung aufrufen und verhalten sich im Sinne Picassos nicht gleichgültig zur aktuellen gesellschaftlichen Situation. Welche Perspektiven ergeben sich in der Auseinandersetzung mit Vorangegangenem für die Zukunft?

Unsere Zeit, geprägt durch Turbulenzen und wachsender Präsenz von erschreckenden „ismen", stellt uns vor offene Fragen und fehlende Antworten. Kann Kunst in unserer Gesellschaft als das bewusste Gegen-, Für- und Miteinander von Tradition und Moderne, einen wesentlichen Beitrag zu einer friedvollen zukünftigen Lösung geben und damit maßgebend zur europäischen Kulturraumentwicklung beitragen?

In unserem Projekt „found a mentalism" regen wir dazu an eine Reise durch das Wachstum einer jungen politischen und ökonomischen Gesellschaft anzutreten, um die Frage nach der Zusammensetzung von unserem gemeinsamen Erbe zu klären. Dem Thema Mittelmeer „Konflikt und Exil", der globalen Situation von Krieg und Vertreibung wollen wir uns ebenso zuwenden, wie auch durch die Gegenüberstellung von Künstlern und Werken die Möglichkeit der kulturellen Vielfalt, des Verstehens und Findens eines Miteinanders aufzeigen.

German Maltese Circle – Eröffnung am 14. April 2018

Künstler:


(room 1) Antka Hofmann, Katrin Süss / Nina Holzweg
(room 2) Jonas Lewek, Detlef Schweiger / Michael Goller
(room 3) Ekkehardt Tischendorf, Katerina Belkina, Karen Gäbler, Henri Deparade, Marcin Owczarek
(hallway) Gaspar Risko, Luc Saalfeld
(gallery) Sabine Ostermann, Philipp Gloger


Saint James Cavalier - Eröffnung am 1. Juni 2018

Künstler:

(Main Hall / hallway) Martin Müller, Stephanie Marx, Mavi Garcia, Urban Grünfelder, Ekkehardt Tischendorf, Paolo Assenza, Nathalie Bertrams, Daniel Kiczales
(Space A) Anka Lesniak, Feng Lu, Malgorzata Myslinska, Ulrike Mundt, Antka Hofmann, Karen Gäbler, Else Gold, Katrin König, Ran Slavin, Philipp Gloger, Gery de Smet
(Space B) Stefan Plenkers, Arne Kalkbrenner, Annelise Bully, Dmytro Pertyna, Steffen Otto, Frenzy Höhne, Tobias Köbsch
(Space C1) Till Ansgar Baumhauer, Rose Stach, Faig Ahmed, Martyna Jastrzebska, Peter Makolies
(Space C2) Nevet Yitzhak
(Space C3) Karolin Koss, Melanie Kramer, Dani Nordt
Space C4) Marcin Owczarek, Henri Deparade, Otto Berndt Steffen
(Entrance Space C) Shahar Marcus

Gefördert von:
Landeshaupstadt Dresden
Schneider + Partner (Hauptsponsor)
Heinrichsthaler
Adam Mickiewicz Instytut